Synagogue of Reggio Emilia

Via dell’Aquila 3, Reggio Emilia

In Reggio, as in many Italian cities, the creation of a ghetto was imposed in the 17th century. Within it, a synagogue was inaugurated in Via dell’Aquila in 1672. 885 people, or approximately 6% of Reggio’s 15,000 citizens at the time, were Jewish.

In 1848, renovations to the building became necessary. Pietro Marchelli, one of the most famous architects of the Reggio Emilia area at the time, was commissioned. The decision was made to construct an entirely new building. The public inauguration of the new synagogue took place on January 15, 1858.

With the unification of Italy, the Jewish community of Reggio Emilia experienced a numerical decline, becoming increasingly smaller due to assimilation and migration to more industrialized cities. After the numerical decline came the catastrophe of the Fascist racial laws and Nazi deportation.

After the war, with the community reduced to just a few survivors, the damaged and robbed synagogue was abandoned. Today, after a splendid restoration, the Reggio Emilia synagogue is once again open to visitors.

Since 2021, the Municipality of Reggio Emilia, in collaboration with the Jewish Community of Modena and Reggio Emilia, has entrusted Istoreco with the task of organizing monthly guided tours, exhibitions, and conferences on topics related to Judaism and its history.

For information, write to sinagoga@istoreco.re.it

The synagogue is located at Via dell’Aquila 3, in the historic center of Reggio Emilia.

Open on days when cultural initiatives are taking place.

For information:
sinagoga@istoreco.re.it
0522 437327

How to visit the Synagogue

The cultural management of the Reggio Emilia synagogue has been entrusted to our institute by the Municipality of Reggio Emilia. Visits for groups or associations are available upon request.
For information, please write to  sinagoga@istoreco.re.it  or call 0522437327.

To organize educational visits for schools: segreteriadidattica@istoreco.re.it